top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureN. To

Project 3: A Living Soul+TwitterBot Code

Updated: Nov 17, 2020



Artist Statement:

In this project, I have had a lot of time to struggle and finding solutions to create the piece that I have made on Twitter. Through hours of tutorials and instructions on how to use Animate, I gave up. My solution, in the end, was to do the character animation hand-drawn. I used Photoshop+timeline to create the animation frame by frame.

Since it was taking me a lot longer to go back and forth hiding and revealing layers for the animation, I then used Premiere to divide and extend the animation to fit the 2min monologue that I had for my character. Although it was very choppy, I am very satisfied with the animation that I created with my own character that I had designed and drew on my own.

My biggest complaint about my character design overall was that it looked very similar to a Fire Emblem character (which I didn't intend on making it similar at all) and that I wished I had more time and patience to put some kind of shading on her as well. Since this was my first time using Twitter, I was very impressed with how easy it was to create a Twitterbot. At first, I was slightly nervous about how difficult it was going to be to "code" for this bot, but realizing that this was A LOT easier than coding for C++, when I had majored in CS, it became pretty fun to come up with words for a MadLib kind of bot. Overall, this project made me love how much it was to animate something that I hand drawn myself. It gave life to my art/design and I am surprised that I had the skill to do this kind of thing.


TwitterBot Code:

{

"origin": [

"#breaktime# is one of the only time of day where I can fully enjoy my time of peace and quiet",

"#roles# are making it very difficult to do my job properly",

"If there are any #Issues#, please #action# it out with Luce before meeting with me. Thank you.",

"#Date#, please come sooner.",

"If you can find time to #play#, then you have the time to get to your meeting with me. Don't make me hunt you down.",

"To anyone who works in this field--> #roles#, please dm Luce with a proper explanation on how to do your job correctly. Thanks.",

"Yes, I'd like to believe that I am #compliment#. Thank you.",

"If you're here to waste my time, please dm Luce during my '#breaktime#' hours."

],

"breaktime" : ["lunchtime", "teatime", "breakfast", "sleeping", "working", "listening to Luce's complaints", "working with music", "watching the snowfall", "walking my dog", "listening to rainfall", "zoning out", "daydreaming"],

"roles" : ["Politicians", "Artists", "Musicians", "Designers", "Engineers", "Mathematicians", "Idiots", "Philosphers", "Scientists", "Psychologists", "Magicians", "Morons", "Fortune Tellers", "Shop Keepers", "Doctors", "Therapists", "Knights", "Healers", "Wizards", "Singers", "Gamers", "Pokemon Trainers", "Dragonslayers", "goblins", "Alchemists", "Archers", "Officials"],

"Issues" : ["concerns", "complaints", "issues", "questions", "advice", "excuses to give", "worries", "interests", "entanglements", "queries", "regrets", "stories"],

"action" : ["fight", "sing", "talk", "argue", "play", "text", "dm", "dispute", "quarrel", "quibble", "altercate", "bicker", "clash", "meet", "challenge", "clown", "dally", "frolic", "frisk", "confess", "express"],

"Date" : ["winter", "lunch", "night", "morning", "tomorrow", "evening", "next week", "weekend", "breakfast", "New Years", "12/20", "Luce", "Meeting #34235", "Meeting #12352", "rain", "Fall festival", "winter festival", "Next month", "next year"],

"play" : ["gossip", "sleep", "drink", "smoke", "chit-chat", "curse other people", "read gossips", "afk", "experiment on useless potions", "catch up on celebrity drama", "stick your nose in other people's businesses", "swing your sword around", "flirt with everyone you see", "catch up on anime", "go shopping", "respond to people's retweets", "argue with Luce", "count cars passing on the street", "have an existential crisis", "doodle", "psycho-analyze people for no reason"],

"compliment" : [ "pretty", "smart", "witty", "strict", "beautiful", "nonchalant", "straight forward", "caring", "strong", "brave", "stronger than my knights", "smarter than Luce", "hard-working", "courageous", "decisive", "a good listener", "a good influence", "a leader"]

}



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Exercise in Style:

Fated: Another normal day, another trip on the S platform. As the line draws closer to the entrance, I took a look at my watch to make sure I wasn't a second behind schedule. I didn't have plans or an

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page